Advisory Committee Copy

ATBH Advisory Committee

Chair: Prof. Asmaa Ali Al-Thani, Vice President for Medical and Health Sciences, Qatar University

Professor Asmaa Al-Thani is the Vice President of Medical and Health Sciences, the Director of the Biomedical Research Center (BRC) and a Professor of Virology at the Biomedical Sciences Department, Qatar University. Professor Althani is also an Adjunct Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar.

Professor Al-Thani’s portfolio articulates a record of accomplishments in establishing the academic and research infrastructure for health and medical sciences at Qatar University, pertaining her roles as the Founding Dean of the College of Health Sciences (2016) and the Founding Director of BRC (2014). Professor Al-Thani has an active role in national landscape of medical research through serving as the Vice Chairperson of the Qatar Biobank Board, Chairperson of the National Qatar Genome Committee and establishing National Reference laboratory-COVID19 Unit. In addition, she is the founding chair for the Empower Generation Consortium (EGC), which comprises several projects that enhance the national capacities in health and medical sciences.

Professor Al-Thani has a leading research portfolio, with over than 120 published papers in peer-reviewed international journals and around 34 internal and external research grants and 2 patents. She is a reviewer for several scientific journals and conferences, and currently a member of the American society for Microbiology.

Her accomplishments have been recognized through several awards, including the Astrolabi Award from WCMC-Q (2020), QS- Reimagine Oscar in Education, gold in Life Sciences and the silver in best university-employer relationship for the years 2018-2020. She also received the State Encouraging Award in the Medical Sciences and Nursing (2017), Sheikh Hummaid Bin Rashid Award for Culture and Sciences (2006), Al-Jasra Cultural Club –Qatar (2008), Qatar University Outstanding Faculty Service Award (2012), the College of Arts and Sciences Research Award (2012) and the Arab Paediatric Medical Research Award (2015).

Other Members:

Dr. Mohammed Althani Director, Public Health – Ministry of Public Health
Dr. Abdulatif Al Khal Deputy Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Department of Medical Education – Hamad Medical Corporation
Dr. Mariam Abdulmalik Managing Director – Primary Health Care Cooperation
Dr. Ibrahim Al Janahi Chair of Medical Education, Designated Institutional Officer, and the Division Chief of Pulmonology – Sidra Medicine
Dr. Hitmi Al-Hitmi Director of Communication and Public Relations – Qatar University
Mr. Cesar Wazen Director of International Affairs Office – Qatar University
Mr. Mohamed Al-Mohannadi Director of Qatar University President Office, Director of Outreach & Engagement – Qatar University
Dr. Alla El-Awaisi Director of Clinical Operations And Engagement – Qatar University
Dr. Feras Alali Dean, College of Pharmacy – Qatar University
Dr. Hanan Abdul Rahim Dean, College of Health Sciences – Qatar University
Prof. Marwan Abu-Hijleh Dean, College of Medicine – Qatar University
Dr. Mandeep Duggal Dean, College of Dental Medicine – Qatar University
Dr. Nabeela Al-Meer Dean, College of Nursing – Qatar University
Dr Javaid I. Sheikh Professor and Dean, Weill Cornell Medicine – Qatar
Dr. Deborah White Dean, University Calgary – Qatar
Dr. Joanne MacDonald Dean, College of Health Sciences – University of Doha for Science & Technology