Advisory Committee

All Together Better Health
The 11th International Conference on Interprofessional
Practice and Education

“Cultivating a Collaborative Culture: Sharing Pearls of Wisdom”

ATBH Advisory Committee

Chair: Dr Egon Toft, Vice President for Medicine and Health, Qatar University

Dr Toft came to Qatar University in 2014 to establish college of medicine and bring together all health related activities at Qatar University under one umbrella named QU Health. This includes today 4 colleges with more than 1000 students and a scholarly output of more than 300 papers in Scopus in 2019. He previously held the position of Founding Dean of the College of Medicine at Aalborg University from 2010 to 2014 (the newest medical school in Denmark). He was also Associate Dean at the College of Engineering, Science and Medicine and before that developing the health area at Aalborg University more broadly. Dr Toft played a leading role in Aalborg University Hospital since 1996, including establishing a large facility for research across the hospital and being senior consultant establishing cardiac invasive electrophysiology treatment. Dr Toft is a qualified specialist in invasive electrophysiology in cardiology (1994) and also holds Doctor of Science in Medicine from Copenhagen University (1995) and has been part of several commercialization projects with positive outcome making valuable projects benefitting thousands of patients. He has more than 150 publications in Scopus.

Other ATBH Advisory Committee Members

    • Dr Abdulaziz Al Kuwari, Acting Chief Executive Office, Aspetar
    • Dr Abdullatif Al-Khal, Deputy Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Department of Medical Education, Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar
    • Dr Deborah White, Professor and Dean, University of Calgary, Qatar
    • Dr Ibrahim Ahmed M. Janahi, Chair of Medical Education, Designated Institutional Officer and the Division Chief of Pulmonology at Sidra Medicine
    • Dr Javaid Sheikh, Professor and Dean, Weill Cornell Medicine, Qatar
    • Dr Mariam Ali Abdulmalik, Managing Director, Primary Health Care Cooperation, Qatar
    • Dr Mohammed Bin Hamad Al-Thani, Director of Public Health Department, Ministry of Public Health, Qatar
    • Dr Moza Al Hail, Executive Director of Pharmacy, Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar
    • Mr Nelson Rodrigues, Interim Dean School of Health Sciences, College of the North Atlantic, Qatar
    • Dr Alla El-Awaisi, College of Pharmacy Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and QU Health Chair of Interprofessional Education Committee, Qatar University, Qatar

Administrative Coordinator:

Ms Maryam Almadhoun, Administrative Coordinator, Vice President for Medical and Health Sciences Office, Qatar University