ATBH Scientific Subcommittee

All Together Better Health
The 11th International Conference on Interprofessional
Practice and Education

“Cultivating a Collaborative Culture: Sharing Pearls of Wisdom”

ATBH Scientific Subcommittee

Chair: Dr Alla El-Awaisi, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, College of Pharmacy and QU Health Chair of Interprofessional Education Committee, Qatar University

Co-chair: Dr Tanya Kane, Assistant Professor of Behavioral Sciences, College of Medicine, Qatar University

Dr Kane is an Assistant Professor of Behavioral Science in the College of Medicine at the University of Qatar. She holds a PhD and MSc in Anthropology from the University of Edinburgh, an MA from McMaster University, a BEd from the University of Toronto, and a BA from Queen’s University (Canada). Her research interests include globalization of higher education, knowledge-based economies, medicine and gender, especially in relation to the countries of the Arabian Peninsula. Dr Kane’s current research project is examining male infertility in the Gulf. Her previous work has focused on dementia, cultures of expertise, the intersection of religious and scientific knowledge, language in transnational education and the universality of medicine. Dr Kane has held posts at Northwestern University in Qatar, Texas A&M University at Qatar and Virginia Commonwealth University in Qatar. A former teacher, she has taught in Canada and the United Kingdom.

Other ATBH Scientific Subcommittee Members

    • Dr Ahmed Al Hammadi, Deputy Chairman, Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar
    • Dr Alison Carr, Associate Dean for Clinical Education, College of Medicine, Qatar University, Qatar
    • Dr Daniel Rainkie, Clinical Lecturer, College of Pharmacy, Qatar University, Qatar
    • Dr Jessie Johnson, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Graduate Programs and Chair of the Interprofessional Education Committee, University of Calgary, Qatar
    • Dr Lily O’Hara, Associate Professor of Public Health, College of Health Sciences, Qatar University, Qatar
    • Dr Marion Jones, Dean of Postgraduate Studies and Professor of Interprofessional Learning, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
    • Dr Mujahed Shraim, Assistant Professor of Public Health, College of Health Sciences, Qatar University, Qatar
    • Dr Nora Al-Mutawa, Family Medicine Consultant and Head of Clinical Training, Primary Health Care Corporation, Qatar
    • Dr Susu Zughaier, Associate Professor of Microbiology, College of Medicine, Qatar University, Qatar
    • Dr Zachariah Nazar, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Practice, College of Pharmacy, Qatar University, Qatar

Administrative Coordinator:

Ms Sarah Al-Qahtani, Administrative Coordinator, College of Medicine, Qatar University


Professor Asmaa Al-Thani is the Vice President of Medical and Health Sciences, the Director of the Biomedical Research Center (BRC) and a Professor of Virology at the Biomedical Sciences Department, Qatar University.  Professor Althani is also an Adjunct Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar.

Professor Al-Thani’s portfolio articulates a record of accomplishments in establishing the academic and research infrastructure for health and medical sciences at Qatar University, pertaining her roles as the Founding Dean of the College of Health Sciences (2016) and the Founding Director of BRC (2014).  Professor Al-Thani has an active role in national landscape of medical research through serving as the Vice Chairperson of the Qatar Biobank Board, Chairperson of the National Qatar Genome Committee and establishing National Reference laboratory-COVID19 Unit.  In addition, she is the founding chair for the Empower Generation Consortium (EGC), which comprises several projects that enhance the national capacities in health and medical sciences.

Professor Al-Thani has a leading research portfolio, with over than 120 published papers in peer-reviewed international journals and around 34 internal and external research grants and 2 patents.  She is a reviewer for several scientific journals and conferences, and currently a member of the American society for Microbiology.

Her accomplishments have been recognized through several awards, including the Astrolabi Award from WCMC-Q (2020), QS- Reimagine Oscar in Education, gold in Life Sciences and the silver in best university-employer relationship for the years 2018-2020.   She also received the State Encouraging Award in the Medical Sciences and Nursing (2017), Sheikh Hummaid Bin Rashid Award for Culture and Sciences (2006), Al-Jasra Cultural Club –Qatar (2008), Qatar University Outstanding Faculty Service Award (2012), the College of Arts and Sciences Research Award (2012) and the Arab Paediatric Medical Research Award (2015).